purpleTART

LAST FIVE ENTRIES

- - 2007-11-30
You Need To Buy This Album - 2007-03-02
American Idol Season 6: Boys v. Girls (Top 20) - 2007-03-01
American Idol Season 6: Top 12 Girls - 2007-02-22
American Idol Season 6: Top 12 Boys - 2007-02-21

Archives

Calendar

Friends

Favorite Clay Sites

Clay Entries

Wedding Entries

Favorite Sites

Contact Me

2007-02-22 - 5:15 p.m.

AMERICAN IDOL SEASON 6: TOP 12 GIRLS

The girls kicked the boys' asses last night!

Stephanie Edwards - �How Come You Don�t Call Me� by Alicia Keys: I guess Stephanie is my "hometown" girl since she's from Savannah. I LOVE her style, hair, dress. I didn't like the song, but I thought she did a fantastic job! Gave her 15 votes.

Amy Krebs - �I Can�t Make You Love Me� by Bonnie Raitt: Really bad song choice. It was very meh.

Leslie Hunt - �Natural Woman� by Aretha Franklin: Like the girl, like her voice, hate the song. I think Leslie's voice is very interesting and I actually like her awkwardness. She chose a terrible song though...not to mention one that isn't suited for her voice. I voted for her 10 times because I'm worried about her going home and I'd like her to have another chance.

Sabrina Sloan - �I Never Loved A Man The Way I Loved You� by Aretha Franklin: Another Aretha song...please God no! Sabrina Sloan can sing really well. Sabrina Sloan looks like Gloria Estefan. Sabrina Sloan still bored the hell out of me. Again, it probably had to do with the fact that I cannot stand this type of music, but I really wanted to flip over to the CW to check on the Beauty & The Geek Reunion during her performance.

Antonella Barba - �I Don�t Want Miss A Thing� by Aerosmith: I like this song, I just don't like Antonella singing it. Her voice is much too weak for this song. Antonella does look just like my cousin Kasey though - it's freaky!

Jordin Sparks - �Give Me One Reason� by Tracy Chapman: I love this girl! I cannot believe she is only 17! So poised, so funny, so beautiful, so great! Good song choice, something different, plus Tracy Chapman is a goddess! Jordin really brought the song home in the end. Love! Voted for her 25 times.

Nicole Tranquillo - �Stay� by Rufus and Chaka Khan: Really unexpected and unsual song choice. I can't say that I enjoyed it, but it was interesting and she seemed to give it her all. She can definitely sing though. I want to see her next week sing a different style. Like her personality. Gave her 5 votes.

Haley Scarnato - �It�s All Coming Back to Me Now� by Meatloaf: Oh my Jesus, why does it seem like everyone in this world likes this song but me! This song makes me totally nauseated. To me, Haley's performance was like watching a very talented Miss America performance. It was terribly pretty and fluffy.

Melinda Doolittle - �Since You Been Gone� by Aretha Franklin: I really like Melinda, she is a very sweet girl, and she is an alumnus of Belmont University (so are 2 of my cousins and I have another one who attends now!) I wasn't crazy about having to sit through a 3rd Aretha Franklin song, but I think Melinda has a great voice. Voted for her 15 times.

Alaina Alexander - Brass in Pocket by the Pretenders: This was a mess. And I'm not surprised because everything I saw of her in the auditions indicated she isn't one of the best singers they've got. It was way too breathy. She does have a cute personality though.

Gina Glocksen - �All By Myself� by Celine Dion: I thought Gina looked so great last night! She worried me with this song choice, but I thought she did well. Maybe not perfect, but she didn't mangle it. I love her mom. I gave her 30 votes last night because I really want her to stay in the competition.

Lakisha Jones - �And I Am Telling You� from the musical �Dreamgirls�: I really hate this song. Trust me, you would hate it too if you had attended the Honda Battle of the Bands this year in Atlanta. Geesh, this song was sung so many times that day that I never want to hear it ever again. That being said, Lakisha killed! I loved her dress, she looked beautiful, I loved her dancing! I love how soft spoken she is and then comes out onto the stage and throws you back with her vocal power. I voted her 5 times since I don't think she's any jeopardy.

I'm not so convinced just yet that she's going to run away this competition. I'll be interested to see how she does with the different genres. But bravo Lakisha! Just promise you'll never sing that song ever again. Ahh, who am I kidding, I bet money I'll have to hear it at the AI tour. *cough*bathroombreak*cough*

Tonight is the results show.

Who I'd like to see go home tonight:

Boys: Sundance Head and Rudy Cardenas

Girls: Alaina Alexander and Antonella Barba

1 comments so far

previous - next

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

 

hosted
by
DiaryLand.com

Blingo