purpleTART

LAST FIVE ENTRIES

- - 2007-11-30
You Need To Buy This Album - 2007-03-02
American Idol Season 6: Boys v. Girls (Top 20) - 2007-03-01
American Idol Season 6: Top 12 Girls - 2007-02-22
American Idol Season 6: Top 12 Boys - 2007-02-21

Archives

Calendar

Friends

Favorite Clay Sites

Clay Entries

Wedding Entries

Favorite Sites

Contact Me

2007-03-01 - 11:54 a.m.

AMERICAN IDOL SEASON 6: BOYS V. GIRLS (TOP 20)

Well I think the boys outperformed the girls this week!

This week had a "dedication" theme to it.

BOYS
Phil Stacey - �Missing You� - by John Waite: I liked the song choice and thought he did a good job. I do agree with Simon and think that Phil's voice isn't that original. However, I criticized Chris Daughtry of the same thing last year and (shhh, don't tell anyone) I love his new album and sound. So who knows, Phil could standout with better material.

Jared Cotter - �Let�s Get It On� by Marvin Gaye: This was very ehhh for me. Reminded me a bit of Ace with the silly sexy moves. I do like his personality though.

AJ Tabaldo - �Feeling Good� by Nina Simone: Eeeee, it's my little fey! I love Nina Simone and love his song choice. It gave him a different vibe and made him stand out a little. Also, I loved him in that green shirt, jeans and vest! I think vests look ridiculous on most men, but AJ looked great! Oh and STFU Simon!

Sanjaya Malakar - �Steppin� Out With My Baby�: I almost mentioned this last week, but Sanjaya really reminds me of Michael Jackson. The meekness, the lilting voice...and then he comes out this week with the Michael Jackson fedora! This was a mess. Very weak, very amateurish, he just didn't commit to the song. He better go bye bye this week. Or else.

Chris Sligh - �Trouble� by Ray LaMontagne: Great song choice, I love Ray LaMontagne so freaking much! I thought Chris did a good job vocally, but he looked awkward with his body.

Nick Pedro - �Fever�: I really like Nick's smoky voice and I think it suited the song. But I'm afraid if it weren't for his Napoleon Dynamite shout-out "Vote for Pedro" shtick, I don't think I would remember him. If he makes it through tonight, he really needs to do something amazing next week.

Blake Lewis - �Virtual Insanity� by Jamiroquai: My notes say: "AWESOME! Watch out Justin Timberlake!" I love Jamiroquai and was very pleased with Blake's choice. I'm not a huge fan of the beatboxing, but he kept it to a minimum and I think it enhanced the performance instead of detracting from it. I thought he looked great, loved his outfit, loved his ass in those pants. Blake is a breath of fresh air to the American Idol competition. I've never understood why the majority of the young contestants pick old tired songs that we've all heard a million times. Sure they may be some of the American public's favorites, but then again what's the chance you're going to make us love your version more than the original one we fell in love with? I'm very excited for this season mostly becuase of Blake.

Brandon Rogers - �Time After Time� by Cyndi Lauper: I love this song, but don't think it was a great choice for Brandon. His vocals were good, but he didn't wow me. I have a total crush on Brandon though, so I hope he doesn't go home tonight.

Chris Richardson - �Geek in the Pink� by Jason Mraz: LOVE IT! I really like Chris and am hoping that he will give Blake a run for his money. I hope they challenge each other to strive even harder. I wish Chris wouldn't bounce so much when he sings, I still find it terribly distracting, but I loved his dedication pakcage about his "Big Mama." Very cute.

Sundance Head - �Mustang Sally� by Wilson Pickett: Ugh, the American Idol execs really want Sundance Head on this show if they give him the pimp spot after his horrible performance last week. I do love this song, but no one can sing it like Andrew Strong (of the film "The Commitments"). Still Sundance did a decent job and he looks a smidge better...but I still think he's Scott Savol, II and can't wait to see him leave.


GIRLS
Gina Glocksen - �Alone� by Heart: I missed most of this performance. I love this song, but I don't think it was the best choice for Gina. I kind of agree with Simon and would like to see her do something a little edgier, or perhaps just something more current. I don't think she's quite the rockerchick Simon think she is, but I think it would help her a bit. I'm afraid she's going to be the next Amy Adams/Jessica Sierra.

Alaina Alexander - �Not Ready to Make Nice� by Dixie Chicks: I love the song, like the girl, but not crazy about the voice. This wasn't a good soing choice for her. It was pushed and frantic.

LaKisha Jones - �Midnight Train to Georgia� by Gladys Knight: *yawn* It feels like someone has sung this song every single season! I actually like this song, but if you're going to sing it you need to knock it out of the park. Lakisha has an incredible voice and so she did well, but she didn't knock my socks off. I'd like to see Lakish sing songs we don't expect, something we never see coming.

Melinda Doolittle - �My Funny Valentine�: Good song. Grrreat job! Loved the phrasing, the timing. Really love this girl!!!

Antonella Barba - �Because You Loved Me� by Celine Dion: Kill me dead now. I hate this song and now I have to hear THIS GIRL Warning: not safe for work (or minors) sing that song! And in an ugly dress that looks like she got it at the store Rave!??? Hates her.

Jordin Sparks - �Reflections� by Christina Aguilera: This wasn't a great performance. Jordin was low and pitchy in spots. I'm not sure if it was the song or perhaps that she was choked up after listening to her dedication package about her brother. I love her though and she looks beautiful and man I really want her to do well!

Stephanie Edwards - �Dangerously in Love� by Beyonce: Stephanie has a great voice, but I wasn't crazy about this song choice. I love her hair though!

Leslie Hunt - �Feeling Good� by Nina Simone: Yay another Nina Simone song! I really like Leslie, she is a nice contrast to the rest of the girls who are either very poppy or R&B. I thought this was a good song choice even though she was weak in parts. I hope she makes it through!

Haley Scarnato - �Queen of the Night� by Whitney Huston: I cannot stand this girl. I hated the dancing, hated the clothes, the hair, the song...ugh! Again, she reminded me of a Miss American contestant. I'm not sure what it is that makes me feel as if I've switched channels...maybe she's too peppy or something or maybe she comes across as trying too hard to be liked, to please everyone.

Sabrina Sloan - �All the Man That I Need� by Whitney Huston: Grrr, another Whitney song. Hate this song choice. Sabrina has a good voice, but she bored me to tears with this, I started to switch the channel again on her! And she does that annoying Christina Aguilara finger tap on the microphone!

Since apparently America and I have very different opinions, I'm not holding out any hope that the people I dislike will go home tonight.


Instead I will pour all my hope into the finale of Nashville Star tonight and that my pick, Angela, will win! She is seriously awesome, like so good it's scary. Enough to make you cry and jump for joy. Angela Hacker is what I love about country music.

1 comments so far

Soundtrack of my day: Mika "Life in Cartoon Motion"

Currently I'm reading: Borak Obama "The Audacity of Hope"

previous - next

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

 

hosted
by
DiaryLand.com

Blingo