purpleTART

LAST FIVE ENTRIES

- - 2007-11-30
You Need To Buy This Album - 2007-03-02
American Idol Season 6: Boys v. Girls (Top 20) - 2007-03-01
American Idol Season 6: Top 12 Girls - 2007-02-22
American Idol Season 6: Top 12 Boys - 2007-02-21

Archives

Calendar

Friends

Favorite Clay Sites

Clay Entries

Wedding Entries

Favorite Sites

Contact Me

2005-08-03 - 6:25 p.m.

Erin�s Broad�s Eye View Report - ATLANTA 08/02/05





I�ll try to keep my BEVR trimmed since I�ll be exposing it 5 more times for this Jukebox Tour, I wouldn�t want to wear it out...just yet.


***Edited to add: Oh who the hell was I kidding trying to keep it short? Ain�t nothing short when it comes to Clay Aiken.***


First and most of all, I must say this concert would not have been the same without Robin by my side. She�s been pretty sick this past week and for the past few days we didn�t think she would be able to attend. I would have enjoyed the concert with my mom and my sister, but it meant so much to me to share my first Jukebox Tour concert with Robin.



This woman is a trooper!


Secondly, I must thank GAKim for the potpourri and candle which smells so good I want to eat it, Amy Evans for the cd of montages, Killer for the book of poetry (I will cherish it!), and JenClay for the magnet! I enjoyed seeing all of you again in addition to Jinx, Frances, Bonnie, Amber and Lindy, Terri in TN, and meeting Jayne in Nashville! It felt so good (and so right) to be running into friends, exchanging hugs and dishing about our man. This �break� has been way too long!


Unlike me (I have no self-control), Robin remained unspoilered for this concert. Hearing Robin�s multiple �Ohhhs� �Oh my Gods� �Nuh Uhs� �He�s so beautifuls� �Look at hims� and �Eeeeees!� were the highlight of my concert experience.


It was hot, but thankfully the rain held off. I didn�t realize the show was actually starting when it began. While I�ve heard all about the concert, I�ve only downloaded the Elvis medley, WDC and the 2 new songs, so I was in parts unspoilered. I thought the 3 people up on stage were radio dj�s, or venue reps, or perhaps representatives from the sponsors that were there to welcome us to Chastain and introduce the show, as is the norm at most concerts I attend.


When Clay came out his hair looked different, as if he had put dippity-do in it and had blown it dry straight up. It kind of looked like a crown of hair since the front sides of his hair were sticking straight up. Robin and I both commented on it a lot, it was too cute and seemed fitting to the 50's style he was doing.


I went crazy during the Elvis medley. It still is my favorite part of the whole concert. I just love his whole demeanor, he�s very confident and sexy. And then there�s that part where he molests the microphone stand.


Those black pants are even tighter in person. I love them most during the 60's when he puts that short suit jacket on. It is as if they were specially tailored for his ass. They perfectly cup his buns.


One of the best parts of the show last night was his interaction with the crowd during his �I need another back-up dancer/Pip bit.� Clay said that there were plenty of ladies in the attendance, but a few gentlemen were there as well. One guy down in the 4th row cheered. Clay pointed him out and said something to the effect of, �Look there�s the one guy who will admit he's at a Clay Aiken concert! You�re a Claymate, don't be ashamed.� *snerk* Clay then said, he needed to find a guy who had been dragged to the show, bribed, tied up in the car, etc. Clay picked a nice looking guy in his 30/40's who was with his wife. They were in the back of the pit section and Clay asked �Aaron� (must be the new security guy) if it was alright if went down into the audience. We heard Clay say as he jumped down into the pit of tables and very enthusiastic fans, �God, please don�t let them rip my clothes off!� The entire conversation between Clay and this couple was cute.


During intermission Robin and I went to the bathroom. Diane Austin got in line behind us, recognized that we were Broads and introduced herself. She was very complimentary to LBFCA.


We ran into GAKim on our way back and chatted with her. Kim, I love you so much! And you looked smokin� hot last night! I�m so glad we ran into you and I loved chatting with you, we must meet soon to continue the conversation! Big kisses to your adorable family!


After he wore the fedora during the 60's, his hair was kind of messy and had wilted. IT WAS ADORABLE. Robin said he looked like he were 12 years old. (A 12 year old boy with a man sized co feet.) And he did, especially sitting in that beanbag. As if he were sitting in his friend�s basement after school waiting his turn to play Nintendo. It was precious.


At first he was leaning so far back in the beanbag that he had to place his right arm behind him to help prop him up. Of course I didn�t mind the leaning way back bit. He did take a moment in between songs to lift and readjust himself. *pause for reflection*


Angela and Quiana were WONDERFUL! They both gave me goosebumps, even to songs that I h.a.t.e. Quiana received a huge ovation for her �I Will Always Love You.� I think the entire place was on its feet!


At the beginning of �When Doves Cry� when Clay is in that robe, he looked so beautiful I could have cried. The dancing during the �fun part� wasn�t as dirty as it was in Pittsburgh the other night, but Clay almost did do a backbend while grinding up against Angela. My favorite part was immediately after he ripped his robe off and made his way front and center. He did this thing with the collar of his jean vest that made me (s)cream.


When Clay started signing �Living La Vida Loca� Robin was wigging. He has improved and LLVL wasn�t much less silly and much hotter! And those True Religion jeans are fitting him like a glove now, really showcasing his thighs! When he wore them on the Not a Tour they didn�t seem to be as tight.


I�m one of those who really loves both of his new songs! �Back for More� is awesome and I cannot wait to rock out to it when I�m down closer to the stage.�


This is a fun and entertaining concert. It�s just a joy to watch him strut, bebop, challenge himself (piano playing), dress up, dance with wild abandon, and molest the microphone.


I know there is much talk among the fandom about the subdued audience last night, but that�s just how it is at Chastain. It�s a laid back dining/concert experience and the atmosphere is as big of a draw as the musical guest. It�s just not a place you go to stand and rock out. That being said, there were many standing ovations and lots of cheering. I hope that Clay understood all of this and wasn�t disappointed.


For most of the concert I was sitting back in my seat with my legs propped up, binoculars in one hand, margarita in the other. It was a very different concert experience for me, since I�m prone to wild �manzee� type behavior that includes jumping up and down, screaming, pointing and lewd comments. We were a good ways back, almost half way back and so the binoculars were necessary, but it was nice to see it from that perspective. Nevertheless, I did stand for Invisible since I knew it was going to be the last song.


My mom and sister, who are actual Clay fans, but who weren�t really looking forward to this tour because of the song line-up, enjoyed the show more than they were expecting. Both of them loved the second half much more than the first half. While entertaining, they thought it was a little too kareoke-ish and the songs didn�t showcase his voice enough.


On the other hand, Robin and I preferred the first half. He�s so feisty, I love it! (Of course molesting the microphone during his Elvis set has nothing whatsoever to do with that.)


Clay looked as if he were having a ball. Even if he were dying from the heat, he put on a good face and show. And he was simply beautiful last night.


If Clay thought Atlanta was hot, just wait until this Saturday in Valdosta! While I�ve lived in Atlanta most of my life, I did go to college in Valdosta and it�s a 100 times hotter than Atlanta.

4 comments so far

Soundrack of my day: me singing "Back for More" outloud at my desk.

Last night I....did my favorite thing in the world...see Clay Aiken in concert with my best friend!

previous - next

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

 

hosted
by
DiaryLand.com

Blingo