purpleTART

LAST FIVE ENTRIES

- - 2007-11-30
You Need To Buy This Album - 2007-03-02
American Idol Season 6: Boys v. Girls (Top 20) - 2007-03-01
American Idol Season 6: Top 12 Girls - 2007-02-22
American Idol Season 6: Top 12 Boys - 2007-02-21

Archives

Calendar

Friends

Favorite Clay Sites

Clay Entries

Wedding Entries

Favorite Sites

Contact Me

2005-10-30 - 8:54 p.m.

Halloween Costumes

A couple of weeks ago while my friends and I were viewing and discussing the Somewhere Out There video from Clay's high school, I confessed that I had once dressed up as a big poofy raisin for Halloween. The video featured a girl with the poofiest sleeves I have ever seen in my life and we all were offering up ideas as to what the girl could have used to make her sleeves poof so much.

I said, "Personally, I think the girl has tissue paper or old newspapers stuffed up her sleeves. I know that's what I used when I dressed up one year as one of those f'ing "I Heard it Through the Grapevine" dancing raisins. You know it was that year that they were having all of those commercials for California raisins. I think I was in the 6th or 7th grade. Which is clearly too old to dress up like a poofy newspaper stuffed purple raisin, but I was a dumbass. *sighs* This is what happens to you when you're a kid with no imagination. You let your mother and grandmother pick out your Halloween costume.

Melissa requested a picture and therefore I searched through every box of pictures I could find, but there were no raisin costume pictures.

However, I did find various other Halloween costume pictures and therefore bring you this trip down trick-or-treat lane:



This is my first Halloween! I'm almost eight months old and we were living in Montgomery, Alabama at the time. My mom is holding me (my face is turned to the back) and as you can see we are wearing matching bunny rabbit costumes. That is my father standing next to us with a paper bag on his head. He is dressed as "SAC(k) man." He was part of the Strategic Air Command in the Air Force and this was his play on words. You can see the creativity just runs rampant in my family. Ha! It is better than the year before when he just wore a real carved out Jack O'Lantern on his head.



This was taken two years later when we lived in Warner Robins, Georgia. My mom made my little Minnie Mouse skirt and tail.



I know many of you will be shocked to see me dressed as a clown since they terrify me now. This is a year later (1979) and we had recently moved to Shreveport, Louisiana.



A few years later and ta-da! I have a sister! And she's wearing my hand-me-down clown costume! (With my Annie wig) I'm wearing the gypsy costume my grandmother made for me. It was my all-time favorite costume. I loved the little ball fringe plus I got to wear make-up. But the best part was the bandana that I wore around my head because it had two gold hoops attached to it right over your ears. Since I wasn't allowed to get my ears pierced until I was 10, wearing the fake earrings was the coolest.



This was taken in 1983 and it was my first Halloween in California. I really don't know what to even call this costume, mabye a hobo clown?
My best Halloween memories are from trick-or-treating in Yuba City. It was always fairly warm outside so you didn't have to wear a coat or plan to wear a costume that would keep you warm. Everywhere you went there were sidewalks, the land was flat and each house was exactly 6 feet away from the next, which meant you could cover a lot of territory in a couple of hours and come home with a huge stash of candy. There were hundreds of kids in the area and we went trick-or-treating with a huge group of neighborhood friends. It was like something you'd see in a movie.



In 1984 I decided to wear my mom's old bunny costume (see first picture). Mom made a matching one for Lauren.



It's 1985. Madonna and Cyndi Lauper are my heroes. (And I would probably still dress this way today if I could get away with it).



This was taken at my school carnival in California. I'm supposed to be a tame version of Elvira.


I'm disappointed I couldn't find my raisin costume, even though it would have been terribly embarassing. Oh well, there's always next year. The side-ponytail punk costume will have to do until then.


So now, I want to hear about your favorite and/or most embarassing costumes.

5 comments so far

previous - next

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

 

hosted
by
DiaryLand.com

Blingo