purpleTART

LAST FIVE ENTRIES

- - 2007-11-30
You Need To Buy This Album - 2007-03-02
American Idol Season 6: Boys v. Girls (Top 20) - 2007-03-01
American Idol Season 6: Top 12 Girls - 2007-02-22
American Idol Season 6: Top 12 Boys - 2007-02-21

Archives

Calendar

Friends

Favorite Clay Sites

Clay Entries

Wedding Entries

Favorite Sites

Contact Me

2005-11-02 - 5:12 p.m.

The Amazing Race

I LOVE THE PAOLO FAMILY!

Ahem. Just had to get that off my chest.

So yeah, I�m watching the eighth season of The Amazing Race: Family Edition. Actually, I�ve watched them all. Not just every season, but every single episode of every season. Same goes for Survivor. I love me some reality television.

Each season I have my favorites for whom I root. This usually automatically jinxes the team(s) because my picks are not prone to win on these shows. This season of The Amazing Race I have fallen in love with the Paolos. They are a slightly dysfunctional Italian family from New York. And they�ve been known as the team to hate with their constant bickering and smart-mouthed teenage sons Brian (16) and not so teenage (and therefore should know better) D.J. (24).

I immediately latched onto this team on the first episode when they got lost right off the bat in New York City and started screaming at each other.

But they pulled it through in the end and managed to somehow stay in the game.


Mmm, look at Brian in his undershirt.

Although I said after the episode that it was too bad that they were my favorite team because I just knew they would be eliminated quickly. With all of their arguing and Mama Paolo being the world�s slowest runner, I thought for sure they would be goners.

But they have forged ahead. Providing some of the most entertaining moments on The Amazing Race.

Meanwhile I have developed a serious crush on young Brian.

Hmm, doesn�t he just remind you of someone? That hair. That face. That serial killer quietness...

Someone who knows what it is like to be the younger sibling of a very talkative and very stubborn older brother who screams like a girl...

Ah yes. Little Brett Parker. (Another one of the warped crushes I currently have).

But back to the Paolos.

Last week they decided to go for the Fast Forward which required all four members to bungee jump. Papa and Brian jumped first. *Strokes Brian's pale upper arm.*

Leaving adversaries, we can�t get along for more than 30 seconds because we�re exactly alike, Mama Paolo and D.J. to bungee jump together.

It turns out that D.J. has a fear of heights. I don�t know why Mama Paolo didn�t jump at the opportunity to get back at D.J. for all of the ridicule he has given her for holding them up during the race, or why in God�s name she didn�t just push him over the ledge. Finally, after shaking like a leaf for a few minutes, D.J. jumped.

And screamed like a girl the entire way down.

Did I tell you that I am also fighting a crush on D. J.? I know he�s a jerk and treats his mother terribly, but he makes me laugh. And reminds me of one of my all time favorite reality show contestants....Rob Cesternino.

Successfully completing the Fast Forward the Paolo team came in first place last week. I thought this would be the only time I�d ever see the Paolo�s in first, but they kicked ass again last night (with me exuberantly cheering them on the entire way) and rocked first place again!

Mama Paolo just doesn�t quit. And during the last sprint to the final mat I thought she was going to pass out from exhaustion. This time D.J. cheered her on. Yay D.J. Yay Mama. Yay Paolo�s!

I have never been so caught up in any one particular Amazing Race team ever. The amount of clapping, squealing, laughing, and cheering that I do each Tuesday night from 9-10 pm is ridiculous. But I can�t help myself. I�m passionate. Kind of like the Paolo�s.

I still think their chance of winning the $1,000,000 is slim to none, but the Paolo�s are getting something more out of the race than money could ever buy. Each week they seem to come together a little bit more and I think they�re finding a new level of love and appreciation for one another.

GO TEAM PAOLO!

One more gratuitous shot of 16 year old eye candy Brian Paolo.

10 comments so far

Soundtrack of my day: Merry Christmas with Love by Clay Aiken. His second Christmas tour kicks off tonight in Vancouver!

Last night I...cheered on the Paolo Family while eating lingonberries. Yummy.

previous - next

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

 

hosted
by
DiaryLand.com

Blingo