purpleTART

LAST FIVE ENTRIES

- - 2007-11-30
You Need To Buy This Album - 2007-03-02
American Idol Season 6: Boys v. Girls (Top 20) - 2007-03-01
American Idol Season 6: Top 12 Girls - 2007-02-22
American Idol Season 6: Top 12 Boys - 2007-02-21

Archives

Calendar

Friends

Favorite Clay Sites

Clay Entries

Wedding Entries

Favorite Sites

Contact Me

2006-02-22 - 10:39 p.m.

American Idol/Boys v. Girls: Round 1

First things first, I must get this off my chest.
HOLY SHIT ACE IS SO F'ING HAWT!

Watch this and see for yourself! The parts that kill me are:
(1) the way he shakes his head when he sings "I will be your preacher, teacher, anything you had in mind." Rrrrawr!

and

(2) the grimace when he sings "to be warm and naked at your side." *shivers*

I need to compose myself for a second. Okay, back to business...

THE GIRLS

Here are my thoughts and picks for the top 6 girls.

I really LOVED Paris, Katharine and Lisa!


(1) Paris Bennett reminds me sooooo much of Quiana! The way she jiggles and her bounces, I had Quiana flashbacks from the Jukebox Tour during Paris' entire performance.

Just look at that spunk!

Paris is like the love child of Fantasia and Quiana for me. Which is a very good thing! And she's from Atlanta!


I loved (2) Katharine McPhee's entire vibe. The song she chose (Barbara Streisand's "Since I Fell For You"), the way she sang it, her personality.

She's gorgeous.


I had never heard (3) Lisa Tucker sing before, so I was very impressed. She does have quite an older vibe to be so young. She was very poised, but I'm afraid she may suffer from Diana Degarmo Syndrome and be critcized for acting too old and not sounding hip.


I love that (4) Mandisa chose to sing "Never" by Heart. I think that it made her stand out because you didn't expect her to sing that kind of song. And she was the only rocker!


(5) Kellie wasn't the best I have ever heard her, but I still enjoyed her performance. I love her backstory and hope she does well in the competition.

I was kind of ehhhh on Melissa and Kinnik. They were good, but not great. I'm fine with either one rounding out the 6.


Melissa McGhee reminds me so much of Jessica Sierra from last season of American Idol. They're both from Florida, both have good raspy voices, but both choose songs that didn't show off their voice and unflattering clothes. And they both love eye makeup!


I probably should support Kinnik Sky since she's another local girl, but I wasn't blown away with her. My friend Karen said she reminded her of Omarosa from The Apprentice. Bwah! I can see that!


I cannot stand Brenna Gethers and need her off my t.v. But unfortunately I think she's going to be on for a long time since the American public seems to love to watch contestants who sass and talk back to Simon. She's like Mikahla Gordan, except she's not cute or entertaining when she does it.


Stevie Scott was TERRIBLE! I thought Paula was off the drugs, but apparently not. I had high hopes for her after seeing a few blips of her during the Holly wood auditions, but yech that was so not good.


Heather Cox tried her hand at last season's "When You Tell Me That You Love Me." It wasn't pretty.


Becky O'Donohue was completely forgettable. And I'm especially not a fan after seeing scantily clad pictures of her posing with her twin at the Maxim magazine site.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

THE BOYS

Holy smokes, that was a great show! I laughed so hard in parts that I cried. I only disliked two of the guys! And I love more than 6 of them.

In no particular order, here is my "dream team."


So I wasn't feeling the whole (1) Ace Young thing before tonight. I know many of you might say, "Erin, what is there not to love about Ace?" Look at him!

But he's one of those pretty boys who knows he's pretty, which is a turnoff to me. Plus, you know I like my boys "pale and frail." But that was until tonight when Ace sang "Father Figure" by George Michael. That was such a great song choice. And to prove that song choice is really crucial, if Ace had come out and sung what Will Makar sang, I would still be calling Ace "Justin Guarini, Jr."

And yes to answer your question, Ace, you can be my daddy. By the way, I blame this love of Ace entirely on my friends (you know who you are) who got me hooked on Constantine Maroulis last season.

I loved what Paula said about Ace tonight, "I know there's about 35 million people with their hands on their phones ready to vote, but you can't vote yet...all the girls. And a lot of my guy friends, too. There's still one left. You're a star, God bless you. And those eyes...hell-O!"


My little (2) Will Makar sang Michael Jackson. *boo* *hiss* I thought he did okay, but the song did not show off his voice at all. I need him to be in the top 12, I'm worried about him. I heart him like crazy. He's the only one in the bunch whose voice makes me swoon.


(3) Chris Daughtry is really good. He doesn't make me want to rip off his clothes, but his voice is very nice. For me, Chris is a nice blend of Bo Bice and Constantine from last year. He's got Bo's good voice, but Constantine's edge. I also liked his song choice of "Wanted Dead or Alive" by Bon Jovi.


Speaking of nice voices, (4) Elliot Yamin was a surprise tonight. I hadn't previously heard him sing. But in all seriousness, I prefer him with my eyes closed. (tm Simon). His looks really skeeve me out. In fact, he reminds me so much of that scary guy Hans Klopek from "The Burbs."

I know that's really mean, but it's true!

I'm honestly really struggling with who should fill out my Top 6 Boys since I think more than 6 are deserving.


I guess I'm going to go with (5) Kevin Covais. I've always thought he was adorable, but tonight he did better than I thought he would.

He's definitely not the best vocalist, but he has a sweet quality to his voice. And there's just something about him that makes you want to root for him.


And (6) Taylor Hicks is mad talented, but I find his Joe Cocker schtick highly annoying. I mean did you see him at the beginning of the show doing all those crazy spastic poses. But when you're not performaning, can you just relax dude and act normal? I was really ready to be over him and not like him, but then he had to go and choose one of the best songs ever, "Levon" by Elton John. Damn him.

It breaks my heart not to be be able to include Patrick Hall or David Radford in this list.


I really like Patrick Hall's voice, but his song choice was not good for him. However, Patrick is the love child of Tom Green and Clay Aiken. (And sings as well as the two of them combined). I do mean that as a compliment.

What may not be so complimentary is this...what was up with Patrick's parents?

*Note: Apparently it just said "Kevin's Friends" under their faces, so this may not be family at all, but still, Patrick can keep the award.

Patrick wins this year's award for scariest looking family members. We all remember that Constantine won last year with his mortician/vampire looking brother Athan...


And David Radford, whoa, I didn't realize how good looking he is! He's the new and improved John Stevens, IV, but then again, do we really need a new and improved JSIV?

I liked Bobby Bennett and Gedeon McKinney, but only for the entertainment value. I can't take either one of them as serious singers since they made me laugh throughout their performances.


Bobby Bennett is precious, especially for a 19 year old and him squeezing the crap out of Ryan Seacrest makes me hope he survives at least one more round so that maybe he can do that again next week.


I don't think Gedeon McKinney chose the right song. The performance was too over the top for me and just made me giggle.


I did not like Bucky Covington. I loved his song choice and I appreciate his type of music, but I agree with Simon when he said that you can hear a lot of guys who sound like him in bars all across the country. His voice isn't different or good enough.


I hated with all that is in me Jose "Sway" Penala. What in the hell did Randy and Paula (and the rest of the audience) hear? I thought that was by far the most atrocious performance ever aired on American Idol with exception of Keith of the "Like a Virgin" fame audition.

I don't know maybe there is something wrong with me, but I don't get it. I had to cover my ears the entire time.

Sooo, what did you think? Who do you like? Who do you hate? Who would you like to see in the Top 12?

I have to say that I think this is by far the most talented group of contestants ever compiled in one season on American Idol.

21 comments so far

Soundtrack of my day: Brandi Carlile

Last night I...watched the women's figure skating competition.

previous - next

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

 

hosted
by
DiaryLand.com

Blingo