purpleTART

LAST FIVE ENTRIES

- - 2007-11-30
You Need To Buy This Album - 2007-03-02
American Idol Season 6: Boys v. Girls (Top 20) - 2007-03-01
American Idol Season 6: Top 12 Girls - 2007-02-22
American Idol Season 6: Top 12 Boys - 2007-02-21

Archives

Calendar

Friends

Favorite Clay Sites

Clay Entries

Wedding Entries

Favorite Sites

Contact Me

2006-03-15 - 1:23 a.m.

American Idol: Top Twelve

It's Stevie Wonder night!

The musical montage of the road to the Top Twelve enthralls me and gives me chills. I love this damn show too much.

Stevie met with the Idols earlier in the week and went over the songs they had chosen. Many of the contestants were moved to tears upon meeting Stevie. I get one look of Elliott with the tears streaming down his face and I immediately break into tears.

I've decided I really like this Elliott kid. The boy hasn't had the easiest life, battling diabetes and such and well I just think he needs this more than the others. Oh I'm still in love with Ms. Kat McPhee, but I have a strong feeling that she's going places even if she isn't wearing the winner's crown.

So here's my thoughts and rankings of tonight's performances.


(1) Katharine McPhee
Katharine comes out singing "Until You Come Back to Me" in what I call her Joss Stone look with shoes. The girl is flawless.



(2) Paris Bennett
Paris is back! She sings "All I Do," a song I don't recognize, but she gives it her all. I like her hair shorter, but she still needs to learn to cool it with the rhinestones.



(3) Elliott Yamin
Elliott sings "Knock Me Off My Feet." I didn't like this song choice, but I think he sounds good and like his outfit a lot. I'm just rooting for him so hard that I know this high ranking is biased.



(4) Mandisa
I think Mandisa's "Don't You Worry About A Thing" was too low, but she still sounded good. I love her!



(5) Kellie Pickler
I've never heard Kellie's song pick "Blame It On the Sun" before. It's another performance that is too low. But like Mandisa, she pulls it out. Kellie looks beautiful. And her personality...SHE IS SO CUTE!



(6) Taylor Hicks
Taylor's performance of "Livin' For The City" is fun. I do like his dancing and he seems to be taking my advice (ha!) and toning down his behavior and random shout-outs. Thank you Taylor for merely mouthing "Soul Patrol" instead of screaming it like a manzee.

Side note: When Taylor walked out to perform I said to my mom, "He looks like he's in his 40's!" My mom said, "I know, he looks good!" She went on to say that she for a minute she forget he is my age and was thinking that he's somebody she would consider dating. Hee! I'm one of the few who would love to see his hair dyed.



(7) Ace Young
Ace sings "Do I Do." YAY! This is my second favorite Stevie Wonder song (after "Superstition") because of the Season 2 American Idol Tour. Since the Idols perform in order of their departure, Charles Grigsby was the first Idol who performed on the American Idol Tour in the Summer of 2003 and he opened the show with "Do I Do." Thus, "Do I Do" is forever burned into my brain with feelings of pure elation that I'm about to see Clay Aiken live!and!in!person! and I possibly could explode.

Ace's kind of bumbles it a bit during the fast parts. Unfortunately, I don't think it's good as Charlie's version. And I wish Ace would stop wearing that damn beanie, it's causing his hair to become frizzy and flat. But he's still boinkable.



(8) Chris Daughtry
Chris says he was worried about Stevie Wonder night until he realized that the Red Hot Chili Peppers' song "Higher Ground" is actually a Stevie Wonder song. That was something I didn't know myself. I don't like the Bo Bice microphone stand carrying around. And in parts the music is drowning him out.

Chris says he's going to blend the Peppers' version and Stevie's version into his own version, but to me it just sounds like a poor copy of the Peppers. Again the judges say to him he could have a radio hit with that performance. And again I call BULLSHIT. There's nothing new or different about it. The thing about Chris is that I think he has an amazing voice. And I think he's a really good guy. But he doesn't have that "it" factor that Simon says he's looking for. To me, there's nothing about Chris' performances that make me say wow. I'd rather just hear the original artists sing their songs, I don't need Chris' version.



(9) Kevin Covais
Kevin sings (and dances to) "Part Time Lover." It's almost as if William Hung had actually made it onto the Top 12 because America fell in love his personality and innocence. It's bizarre to watch. He's not a bad singer, but the performance is more for entertainment purposes.



(10) Melissa McGhee
Melissa sings "Lately." She messes up her lyrics and for me the entire thing is just painful to watch. At least her makeup looks better. I'm a little shocked a the judges' glowing remarks.



(11) Lisa Tucker
Lisa sings "Signed Sealed Delivered" or what my friends and I call "a Clay Aiken song" since he sang it on his (not a) tour in 2004. It's manic. And I think she's sounds off. That first "whoo" she does makes me shudder. Again the judges love it and I'm bewildered.



(12) Bucky Covington.
I'm a little miffed because it's Bucky that is singing my favorite Stevie Wonder song "Superstition." It looks as though his hair has been washed for the first time in months. It's like a dang Prell commercial on stage. Bucky is too gruff when he sings and just mucks it up. Boo.

I'm really hoping that either Bucky, Kevin or Lisa get the boot tomorrow.

2 comments so far

previous - next

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

 

hosted
by
DiaryLand.com

Blingo