purpleTART

LAST FIVE ENTRIES

- - 2007-11-30
You Need To Buy This Album - 2007-03-02
American Idol Season 6: Boys v. Girls (Top 20) - 2007-03-01
American Idol Season 6: Top 12 Girls - 2007-02-22
American Idol Season 6: Top 12 Boys - 2007-02-21

Archives

Calendar

Friends

Favorite Clay Sites

Clay Entries

Wedding Entries

Favorite Sites

Contact Me

2006-03-22 - 2:31 p.m.

American Idol: Top Eleven

It's 50's night!

This week they flew the contestants to Las Vegas to meet with Barry Manilow. I am not a Barry fan in any sense of the word, but I was impressed with the work and his attitude towards the Idols. Barry is a pretty cool guy!

And guess what...CONSTANTINE MAROULIS is in the house!

Holy shit, Connie is wearing glasses! He is so hot, I can't think straight. *dies a thousand deaths* I honestly can't remember ever seeing a picture of him wearing glasses.

I tell ya, they really do have a good group of kids this season. I like almost every single one of them.

So here's my thoughts and rankings of tonight's performances.


(1) Kellie Pickler
Kellie and Katharine actually both received perfect scores from me. (Meaning 5 out of 5 on my "official scorecord" from the American Idol Magazine.

The five categories are: Vocal Ability; Appearance; Song Choice; Personality; and Stage Presence. Then there's a comments section.

I'm giving Kellie my first rank title because (a) I loved her song choice, "Walking After Midnight" by Patsy Cline. In fact, it's my favorite Patsy Cline song EVER; and (b) I wrote in the comments section that I *heart* her and that Kellie is the new Dolly Parton for the 21st century.



(2) Katharine McPhee
Katharine sang "Come Rain or Come Shine." She's so beautiful it hurts me. Katharine McPhee is now at the top of my girl crush list. Like I said last week, Katharine is flawless. However, sometimes her ego rubs me the wrong way a tad. But, I'd still do her. I wonder if Constantine is paying a booty call, they both went to the Boston Conservatory so he can use that angle.



(3) Paris Bennett
Paris chose a perfect song for her voice, "Fever" by Peggy Lee. She looked great, too!



(4) Elliott Yamin
Elliott sang "Teach Me Tonight." Elliott looks great, I really love his outfit and the facial hair does wonders to his jacked up teeth.



(5) Mandisa
Mandisa opened the show with "I Don't Hurt Anymore" by Dinah Washington. Mandisa was excellent! Her shoes and jewelry on the other hand were atrocious! It was bad prom accessories.



(6) Kevin Covais
Kevin sang "When I Fall in Love." And he sounded great! I was shocked and mesmorized. If he can give performances like this each week, then he should stay. And is it my imagination or did Kevin get new glasses?



(7) Chris Daughtry
Chris, Chris, Chris...you know I'm really getting tired of repeating myself. You are not original. You do not bring anything new. You are a poser. You just copy great art! *raises fists to the air*

Chris sang an alternative *coughLIVE'sversioncough* version of "I Walk the Line" by Johnny Cash. Yep, that's right folks, that wasn't Chris being some sort of artist and "making the song his own." That's Chris copying one of his (and mine) favorite bands, Live. Live is the one who came up with this cool version of Cash's song. It's on their "best of" cd, Awake. The same cd that I carry in my car at all times.

Chris has a great voice, a great look and seems like a good guy. But danggummit, somebody needs to wake up and call him out on this crap! The judges (and I'm afraid most of the American Idol viewing audience) aren't aware that he isn't doing anything new or different, anything of his own. I think Chris would do very well forming a cover band or tribute band, but so far he hasn't brought anything new to the songs he has performed.

That being said, I enjoyed his performance last night, it was good. But he's not the musical genius that Barry Manilow, the judges and the audience think he is.



(8) Ace Young
Ace sang "In the Still of the Night" and changed it up a bit. It wasn't terrible, but it wasn't amazing.

He might have pretty hair, but he's no Constantine.



(9) Lisa Tucker
Lisa is one of the rare ones who chose a typical 50's song. It's cute, but has no substance. She really bores me and I wouldn't miss her on the tour.



(10) Bucky Covington.
Bucky chose to sing "Oh Boy" by Buddy Holly. I love Buddy Holly, but this was not a good choice for Bucky. It was just bad.



(11) Taylor Hicks
HATE puke HATE puke HATE puke HATE puke HATE
I hate this man with every passion and intensity imaginable. Taylor also screwed up a Buddy Holly song, "Not Fade Away." It was "drunk dad at a wedding, part 2." You know he's dipped into the sauce even more so and the amusement has worn off, the drunk dad is just more obnoxious and someone needs to take him outside for some air. What an f'n joke.


I need some more silly faces Constantine wearing glasses to make it better.

Ahhhhhhh...

I was a good girl and followed Ryan's instructions to vote. There were so many I didn't know who to vote for, so I just went down the line trying everyone (except for Lisa, Bucky and Taylor). Everyone's line was busy for awhile. Finally, I got through for Kevin. I put in about 50 votes for him. Then Elliott's line opened up and I put in about the same. I got in a few votes for Katharine, too.

I'm praying that either Bucky or Lisa go home tonight.



**Thanks to Wendy for the Constantine screencaps!

5 comments so far

previous - next

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

 

hosted
by
DiaryLand.com

Blingo