purpleTART

LAST FIVE ENTRIES

- - 2007-11-30
You Need To Buy This Album - 2007-03-02
American Idol Season 6: Boys v. Girls (Top 20) - 2007-03-01
American Idol Season 6: Top 12 Girls - 2007-02-22
American Idol Season 6: Top 12 Boys - 2007-02-21

Archives

Calendar

Friends

Favorite Clay Sites

Clay Entries

Wedding Entries

Favorite Sites

Contact Me

2006-03-28 - 9:09 p.m.

American Idol: Top Ten

It's 21st Century night! (No they won't be singing real estate jingles).

So here's my thoughts and rankings of tonight's performances:


(1) Paris Bennett
Sang "Work It Out" by Beyonce. Loved it! Loved the dancing, loved the fun, loved the soul she put into it. She got minus one point because of the excessive bling, but I enjoyed Paris' version more than the original, so bravo!



(2) Taylor Hicks
Did you just feel the earth move? Yep, I enjoyed that crazy afflicted Taylor Hicks tonight!

Reason one: Taylor didn't act crazy nor did he act afflicted!
Reason two: he chose one of my favorite songs by one of my favorite artists, "Trouble" by Ray LaMontagne. I even blogged about Ray after seeing him in concert last December!
Reason three: he looked great! I love his hair cut, it took years off of him and I thought his clothes were perfect!

I'm so proud of Taylor for acting like a reasonable person and just standing there singing the song. He doesn't need that crazy act, it's distracting and annoying. I wish Taylor would keep up this more restrained act, but I have a feeling he's going to be boarding that crazy train again. Say hi to Robin for me Taylor!



(3) Elliott Yamin
Elliott sang "I Don't Wanna Be" by Gavin DeGraw. Like he said, Bo Bice sang this last year. I love Gavin DeGraw and this wasn't a terrible choice for Elliott, but I wish he would have chosen another song of the album. My friend Raleighgurrl suggested "Chariot" would have been a better fit and I couldn't agree more. I thought Elliott's performance was good, but it didn't show off his voice as much as I would have like. Loved his outfit again tonight! And it looks like those bangs got a little trim, thank goodness!



(4) Mandisa
Mandisa sang "Wanna Praise You" by the gospel duo MaryMary. I thought she started off too low, but man did she bring the house down at the end. I thought this was a great choice for her. I wasn't too crazy about her appearance tonight though.



(5) Bucky Covington.
The earth just moved again, didn't it? Taylor is my second favorite and Bucky has made it in my top 5? Maybe it was the meeting with Robin the other night, listening to her go on and on about Bucky and her salacious dreams about him...I don't know, but I thought this was his best performance. I kept thinking about how much Robin was enjoying this performance, so maybe I couldn't help but like it myself. You know we do have that "Wonder Twins" thing going on.

I thought he looked good. The cowboy hat was a welcomed accessory if it meant I didn't have to look at that mangy hair of his and I loved his whole ensemble. He even did a funny little dance step tonight. Again, I think he's too screechy when he sings, but I thought Tim McGraw's "Real Good Man" was an excellent choice for Bucky.



(6) Chris Daughtry
Chris sang "What If" by Creed. Another cheesetastic alternative band that Chris and I both like! Yes, I've also shelled out money to see Creed live in concert. I do think that Scott Stapp is a total tool though. I just wish Chris had chosen a different song. It was a little too yelly for me. My mom freaking loved it. But my mom LOVES rock music. So she loved the hardness of the song and seeing Chris rock out.

I'm glad that there was some mention of him copying Live's version of "Walk the Line" last week. It's not that he copied it that I have a problem with, afterall this show is one big orgy of karaoke, it was just that everyone (the judges, Barry Manilow, and the viewing public) seemed to be so impressed at "his" arrangement of the song. And Chris took credit for that arrangement. That's what bothered me.

Of course Simon mindfucks him and tells Chris that he needs to change it up. Even though he's been telling him all along that he admired him for not compromising his style. As soon as Chris does do something different, I'm betting they'll chastise him for not sticking with what he does best.



(7) Lisa Tucker
Lisa sang "Because of You" by Kelly Clarkson. Lisa, honey, you're not the next Kelly Clarkson. I thought Lisa had a strong voice, but this seemed to highlight her lack of range rather than show it off.



(8) Kellie Pickler
Kellie sang "Suds in a Bucket" by country artist Sara Evans. Kellie looked like she wasn't really there tonight, like she had checked out. And I agree with Simon that she wasted an opportunity to impress us. Too many times contestants choose songs that they really love and enjoy, but fail to take into consideration if it's the best song to sing to America.



(9) Katharine McPhee
I didn't know Crystal Gayle had joined Star Trek? Seriously, what was that monstrasity of a shirt? Blech!

Katharine sang "Voice Within" by Christina Aguilera. I like Christina and I like this song, but I thought Katharine's rendition was terrible! I thought it was off pitch and just a complete mess. I don't know what the judges heard though because they loved it.



(10) Ace Young
Honestly, Ace's performance wasn't as bad as Katharine's, but his appearance was so wretched that he has to go at the bottom. Since this is Ace we're talking about, where the prettiness factor weighs in more than the "but can he sing?" factor - the appearance is key. It looked like he had mistakenly put on Bucky Covington's outift with that eagle shirt! And the hair...damn those beanies, they're just flattening his hair and making it all frizzy.

Ace sang "Drops of Jupiter" by Train. This is the only song I can tolerate by Train, and that's barely tolerate. Even though they're an Atlanta band, I'm not a fan. The singing wasn't the worst, but the stare, the flashing of his scar, and the outstretched trembling hand coupled with the poor appearance stunk. I just felt very yech about the whole thing.

I hope Lisa goes home tomorrow night!

And Shakira will be there, yay!

Crap, The Amazing Race is coming on right now!

6 comments so far

previous - next

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

 

hosted
by
DiaryLand.com

Blingo