purpleTART

LAST FIVE ENTRIES

- - 2007-11-30
You Need To Buy This Album - 2007-03-02
American Idol Season 6: Boys v. Girls (Top 20) - 2007-03-01
American Idol Season 6: Top 12 Girls - 2007-02-22
American Idol Season 6: Top 12 Boys - 2007-02-21

Archives

Calendar

Friends

Favorite Clay Sites

Clay Entries

Wedding Entries

Favorite Sites

Contact Me

2005-10-03 - 11:28 a.m.

Secrets...


Every Monday morning after I arrive at work, I hop on the internet and go to the Post Secret site to read the new post cards. If you've never been to this site, I strongly encourage you to do so. The first time I visited I broke down and cried at my desk. Then I picked up the phone and called Joe and cried over the phone to him, just crying for everyone, all the pain, all the shame, all the fear that so many of us live with daily.

Each card reveals a secret sent in by an anonymous person. Some are banal, some are sad, some are silly, some are horrifying and some...well some really hit home.


The truth is every one of us has secrets. I think what I'm most struck by is how often we have similar secrets. We fear the same things, we wish for the same things, we fantasize about the same things.


Growing up I lived in absolute fear that one or more of my secrets would be revealed. The fear and shame prevented me from forming close friendships and relationships and caused me to create a facade.


Then about 2 1/2 years ago I met some incredible women. Through this amazing atmosphere of honesty and bonding and no-judgment, I began to share some of my secrets and in most instances, found that I was not alone.




Dedicated to D, J, L, Ka, Ke, M, N, R, W

5 comments so far

Soundtrack of my day: "Sugar, We're Going Down" by Fall Out Boy

Last night I...dropped Robin off at the airport

Currently I'm reading: the worst fanfic EVER!

previous - next

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

 

hosted
by
DiaryLand.com

Blingo