purpleTART

LAST FIVE ENTRIES

- - 2007-11-30
You Need To Buy This Album - 2007-03-02
American Idol Season 6: Boys v. Girls (Top 20) - 2007-03-01
American Idol Season 6: Top 12 Girls - 2007-02-22
American Idol Season 6: Top 12 Boys - 2007-02-21

Archives

Calendar

Friends

Favorite Clay Sites

Clay Entries

Wedding Entries

Favorite Sites

Contact Me

2006-05-03 - 10:21 a.m.

American Idol: Top Five


The highlight for me last night was hearing Kelly Clarkson singing on a Ford commerical...twice! I'm going to have to find a bootleg copy of that.

Here's my "anal[ysis] notes." tm Jill.


(1) Taylor Hicks

I have to quote my friend Jill again about Taylor's performance.

"Taylor, gawd, I don't have enough words for how I loved him tonight. He was like all over fuck you AI, this is me and eat it and love it or shit it out. Man. Chutzpah all over the place. I will watch over and over. He did the funky chicken in the audience!!! He fell to the floor! He rawked BOTH his songs."

Taylor smoked on both of his performances! I was worried that his "Play that Funky Music" was going to be another manic moment that I was going to hate. He did do his Carlton (from Fresh Prince of Bel Air)/Elaine (from Seinfeld) dance, but I loved it! He just went for it and gave it his all. AND he got Ryan Seacrest to lie down with him on stage. Major points in my book.

Taylor's performance of "Something" reminded me of his pre-Idol work that I listened to online at the very beginning of this season. Very good job.



(2) Chris Daughtry
I'm surprising myself by putting Chris in second place. Especially since he's the one I want to go home next. He's been boring me for weeks now and he still is. That being said, he picks songs that I tend to like and so therefore I remember his performances better. Chris sang "Renegade" by Styx and "I Dare You" by Shinedown. His vocals were very weak on the second song.



(3)Paris Bennett
Paris sang "Kiss" and Mary J. Blige's current hit "Be Without You." I liked both of the songs, but didn't love them. The "Kiss" performance was a little awkward for me. She had a few bad low notes in her second song, but I thought she still did a good job with both of the songs. She looked freakin' adorable though, I loved her clothes tonight.



(4) Elliot Yamin
It kills me to put Elliot this low in my list, I adore him and want him to win this whole thing...but dear God he chose crappy songs. "On Broadway" and some Michael Buble song called "Home." The song was crap. Elliot's voice is a rich silky slide into sexy land, but he's boring me with his song choices. I wish the boy weren't so R&B. *sighs*



(5) Katharine McPhee
Katharine absolutely murdered her first song "Against All Odds." I love this song and she ruined it for me. At least Kat owned up to it mentioned that she had a difficult time hearing herself. She was obviously off and unsure of herself in some parts of the song, but the overall arrangement was crap.

Katharine made up for it with her second song "Black Horse and the Cherry Tree" by KT Tunstall. It was a good choice of song, one of my favorite songs right now. Katharine's version was much weaker than the original, but I think the majority of the viewing public isn't too familiar with KT Tunstall so they were probably very impressed.

The dialidol.com site is showing Paris and Katharine neck and neck for the bottom slot. I hate to see either one of them go.

2 comments so far

previous - next

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

 

hosted
by
DiaryLand.com

Blingo