purpleTART

LAST FIVE ENTRIES

- - 2007-11-30
You Need To Buy This Album - 2007-03-02
American Idol Season 6: Boys v. Girls (Top 20) - 2007-03-01
American Idol Season 6: Top 12 Girls - 2007-02-22
American Idol Season 6: Top 12 Boys - 2007-02-21

Archives

Calendar

Friends

Favorite Clay Sites

Clay Entries

Wedding Entries

Favorite Sites

Contact Me

2006-07-06 - 4:51 p.m.

RockStar: Super(whogivesacrap)nova (Now with an update)

Last summer I was highly entertained by the show RockStar: INXS wherein the band INXS found their new lead singer. This show is like the cool version of American Idol. No cheesy songs, no pimply teens.

I'm thrilled that the show is back again this summer. This time around Tommy Lee (along with a former member of Metallica and a former member of Guns and Roses) is looking for a new star vocalist to front his new band Supernova.

I do find Tommy Lee mildly entertaining, but haven't been impressed with any of his solo projects since he and the Crue broke up. And I highly doubt I'll like this new band, but I'm still psyched about the show. The house band is fantastic, you really should watch the show if you like rock music. They get some of the best music ever written cleared on this show, it's definitely entertaining.

Here are my thoughts on last night's episode.

Storm Large

Storm (and yes she tells us that is her real name) kicks off the show with an awesome performance of The Who's "Pinball Wizzard." I really like her, despite her tv weatherman/superheroine name.

Ryan Star

Not to be confused with the girl Ryan Starr of American Idol: Season 1, Ryan covers "Iris" by the Goo Goo Dolls. I have a soft spot for this song now that Clay performed it last summer. Ryan does a decent job, but from his intro package I don't get the feeling that he's going to be a good fit for the new band. I mean for heaven's sake, the man has no tattoos OR piercings!

Toby Rand

Toby Rand is an Aussie with an attitude. I hate his intro package, he comes off as a cocky "in it for the women" kind of guy. But Toby blows me away with his acoustic version of Bob Dylan's "Knocking on Heaven's Door." Toby has a great voice!

Patrice Pike

Patrice got great feedback from the guys with her cover of "Somebody to Love" by Jefferson Airplane. I do like Patrice's voice, but she didn't blow me away. I need to see more from her.

Magni Asgerirsson

Magni hails from Iceland where, he tells us, he's a huge star. He seems like a total douchebag in his intro package and in his performance of The Rolling Stones' "Satisfaction." I couldn't get no satisfaction from you either Magni. He lackadaisically walk around the stage acting as if he's too cool for this shit. Please go home to Iceland.

Zayra Alvarez

Zayra is from Puerto Rico. I like her personality more than her vocals. She sang "Bring Me to Life" by Evanescence. She is very quirky and reminds me a lot of Daphna from last season of RockStar. Love her look, her vibe, but I don't think she's got the chops to stick around for the long haul.

Jenny Galt

Jenny is a pretty girl, but does not belong in this band or even on this show. Her version of Nickleback's "How You Remind Me" reminded me of something I would hear on the Disney channel.

Josh Logan

Josh tells us he is more of a soul singer than a rock and roll singer and does a gorgeous rendition of "She Talks to Angels" by The Black Crowes. I've always loved this song and it was an excellent choice for Josh. Josh reminds me of Ty Taylor from last year. Ty also had a lot of soul and a sweet personality and I loved him! But he wasn't right for the band...and I don't think Josh is right for this one either. I do hope this show opens doors for Josh because I would gladly follow his career. I just adore him.

Matt Hoffer

In my opinion, Matt's cover of Coldplay's "Yellow" is the worst of the night. He is really pitchy and really boring. I don't think he'll stick around for long.

UPDATE: Matt went home tonight. Yay! He was my pick. After his performance last night, which Tommy and the guys actually liked, they asked him to do something dirtier rockier next time. So when Matt ends up in the bottom 3 tonight what does Matt bring to the stage? Duran Duran. Ha! Now I love me some Duran Duran, but this is not what the band Supernova had in mind as their kind of sound.

Phil (my cutie patootie) and Chris deservedly rounded out the bottom three. This means Phil will be back next week...now if only grant my wish and show me that anorexic body of his.

Dilana Robichaux

Dilana is from South Africa by way of Texas and scares the hell out of me. She looks like as if she could bite the heads off of babies. But I love her! She sings "Lithium" by Nirvana and knocks it out of the park. Or should I say out of the bat cave in hell? If a woman is going to front this band, she may be the one who could actually do it.

Dana Andrews

Dana is a Georgia gal who really should have gone on Nashville Star. She sings "I'm the Only One" by Melissa Ethridge. She's got a good voice, but she's young and seems a little out of place in this group. There's no way in hell she'll ever win this thing.

Phil Ritchie

Phil will be serving as this year's hot cutie pie. He's very yummy, but gets bad reviews for his version of Living Color's "Cult of Personality." It isn't good, I'll admit it, but I want him to stay on...at least long enough to take his shirt off. You better bring it (and your nipples) next time Phil. That is, if you're still around!

Speaking of....let me take this moment to say how disppointed I am that not one guy showed us some skin last night. Last year we had several open shirts and even topless performances. Shame on you boys!

Jill Gioia

Jill sings Janis Joplin's "Piece of My Heart." She's got a big voice that can sing this song, but I don't know, she just seems kind of New Jersey mallrat to me. I mean, just look at her picture. Yick. She's definitely on my list of dislikes.

Chris Pierson

Chris sings the worst version of "Roxanne" by Sting ever performed in history. And he gets panned for it. Chris tried to update it and make it more rockerish, but it was really horrendous. I feel bad for the guy, but yikes.

Lukas Rossi

Lukas ends the show with what could possibly be the greatest version of Billy Idol's "Rebel Yell." I had no idea what to expect from him and I still don't know exactly what he'll bring me next, but I feel confident that it's going to be fantastic every time. Love him.

8 comments so far

previous - next

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

 

hosted
by
DiaryLand.com

Blingo