purpleTART

LAST FIVE ENTRIES

- - 2007-11-30
You Need To Buy This Album - 2007-03-02
American Idol Season 6: Boys v. Girls (Top 20) - 2007-03-01
American Idol Season 6: Top 12 Girls - 2007-02-22
American Idol Season 6: Top 12 Boys - 2007-02-21

Archives

Calendar

Friends

Favorite Clay Sites

Clay Entries

Wedding Entries

Favorite Sites

Contact Me

2006-08-02 - 1:39 a.m.

Clay Covers

Well the time has come...we're finally getting some news about Clay's upcoming album. He told us a few months ago that the cd would mostly be covers. I'll admit that I wasn't thrilled with that idea at this point in his career.

To pacify my time during the long wait and to try to comfort myself, I started making a list of songs I would be happy to hear Clay cover.

This is a random list that includes songs that I would get a kick out of Clay singing because they're (a) very un-Clay Aiken'ish; (b) very naughty; (c) one of my very favorite songs of all time; or (d) I think Clay would shine vocally.

Because the list is HUGE, I'm first going to try to pick out my top favorites that would compose my fantasy cover cd.

1. "Closer" by Nine Inch Nails
2. "Total Eclipse of the Heart" by Bonnie Tyler
3. "Dirty Little Secret" by All-American Rejects
4. "Round Here" by Counting Crows
5. "Creep" by Radiohead
6. "Life on Mars" by David Bowie
7. "Beast of Burden" The Rolling Stones
8. "Father of Mine" by Everclear
9. "Purple Rain" by Prince
10. "Vindicated" by Dashboard Conefessional
11. "Overcome" by Live
12. "Say It Ain't So" by Weezer
13. "Do Ya Think I'm Sexy" by Rod Stewart
14. "Zombie" by The Cranberries
15. "Right Here Waiting" by Richard Marx

And guess what....I'm getting No. 15! I'm so relieved to know there will be at least one song I will love on Clay's new album.

Here's the rest of the songs I'd love to hear Clay sing:

Welcome to the Jungle/Guns N' Roses (this was my high school anthem)
She's Every Woman/Garth Brooks
Hands to Heaven/Breathe
In The Air Tonight/Phil Collins
Dream On/Aerosmith
Every Breath You Take/Sting
Blister in the Sun/Violent Femmes
Add It Up/Violent Femmes
Head Like a Hole/Nine Inch Nails
No One Else/Weezer
Blood Roses/Tori Amos
Crucify/Tori Amos
Only You/Yaz
Wicked Game/Chris Isaak
Somebody/Depeche Mode
Eye of the Tiger/Survivor
With a Rebel Yell/Billy Idol
It is Well with My Soul/hymn
I Want a New Drug/Huey Lewis
Baba O'Reilly/The Who
I am Human and I Need to be Loved/The Smiths
Sweet Child of Mine/Guns N' Roses
Who Can It Be Now/Men at Work
Trouble/Ray LaMontagne
Sister Christian/Night Ranger
You'll Think of Me/Keith Urban
Africa/Toto
Somebody Told Me/The Killers
Don't You (Forget About Me)/Simple Minds
Time After Time/Cyndi Lauper
Lithium/Nirvana
Everybody Hurts/REM
Addicted to Love/Robert Palmer
Fortunate Son/Creedence Clearwater Revival
If You Could Only See/Tonic
She Talks to Angels/Black Crowes
Tainted Love/Soft Cell
Somebody to Love/Queen
Hands Down/Dashboard Confessional
The Luckiest/Ben Folds
Simple Kind of Man/Lynard Skynard
Sit Down/James
Laid/James
Always Something There to Remind Me/Thompson Twins
You're Beautiful/James Blunt
In Your Eyes/Peter Gabriel
If You Leave/Orchestral Maneuvers in the Dark
Into the Mystic/Van Morrison
Father Figure/George Michael
You Can't Always Get What You Want/The Rolling Stones
The Reason/Hoobastank
Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)/The Eurythmics
My Savior Is/Aaron Shust

The release date for the album is September 19th. And tonight (Wednesday) Clay will be on Entertainment Tonight. I hope we get some tour news soon.

You can hear the few leaked songs from Clay's upcoming album here. (Don't forget to right click/save as).

Thanks to my friend Pat for the screencaps!

3 comments so far

Soundtrack to my day: Clay singing "Without You"

previous - next

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

 

hosted
by
DiaryLand.com

Blingo